IGNORED

I want to use OWC Mercury Pro Elite....

I currently have a MacBook Pro. I will be purchasing a Marantz Receiver (NR1402), a pair of Focal Chorus (706V) bookshelf loudspeakers, and Arcam's rDAC in January 2012 and will start to listen to music out of my MacBook Pro and all above-mentioned components in January 2012.

I want to purchase OWC's Mercury Pro Elite external hard drive -- more precisely, their 2TB USB 2.0/FW400/FW800/eSATA Quad Interface (non RAID) model -- in mid-late October (this model is about $214 from OWC).

I want to back up my 57 GB of iTunes into the OWC, as well as to add new downloads/CD rips directly into the OWC (not into the MacBook Pro's internal hard drive). Downloads will range from ripped CDs to hi-res downloads (16/44.1 to 24/192) and some (not a lot) DSD downloads (64/2.8MHz to 128/5.6MHz).

My question: I'm a newbie at this, and I just want to ask if this particular OWC model will be sufficient, and I won't necessarily need an OWC with a RAID config, right? I my also decide on a 3TB OWC for even more storage.

Please comment. Thanks

I am a huge fan of OWC products. I have a the model you mention plus 6 of their 2.5" models - both aluminum and plastic case models. The latter are MUCH quieter ie, no fans. The plastic ones are even quieter than the metal. There is no way I would want 3.5" with fans in aluminum case in the listening area. Hope this helps.

Is the plastic model noticeably quieter than the aluminum one from several feet away?

Oyen MiniPro w/WD10JPVT (AIFF) ? generic FireWire cable ? Mac Mini (10.6.8)/Pure Music ? Pangea USB-PC ? Musical Fidelity V-Link ? SilFlex Glass TosLink ? Music Hall dac25.3 ? Goertz Tourmaline RCA? Krell S-300i ? Clearview Golden Helix ? Magnepan MMG

Hi,

I have a 750MB (7200rpm) and I can hear it from my listening chair. It sounds like soft sandpaper.

Thinking there might be a problem with it, I ordered a second one - same thing.

Now I checked the specs of the 5400 and 7200 rpm versions: