IGNORED

Benchmark DAC1 USB or DAC1 PRE

Sorry guys, newbie here...

First of all, I'm very pleased to finally find a place to talk about this "new" wave of convergence between the PC and HI-FI systems, for me is absolutely the way to go, it makes all the sense...myself, I'm IT guy that really loves music...

Today I've a PC with Vista Ultimate(Media Center) as a server(about 600 Cd's ripped in WMA Lossless format), with a Prodigy Sound Card connected to a Integrated Amp from Music Fidelity and a pair of Sonus Faber speaker’s. I'm planning to go a step forward buying a dedicated DAC, since I'm not to happy with the current config, my dedicated CD from DENON still sounds better for me...well, going back to the subject, were to go regarding the two products from Benchmark, what's the main difference/advantage of each "solution" in a config PC->DAC->Integrated Amp....

Many thanks,

Renato

Hey Renato welcome to Computer Audiophile. It sounds like you have the makings of a really good system. Both Benchmark products are pretty similar. I will be getting the new DAC1 PRE sometime in February when they are available. the biggest difference is that the PRE has analog inputs. Thus it is a DAC/preamp. The DAC1/USB only has digital inputs. it is really up to you if you need the analog inputs. There are some other differences with upgraded internal parts which should be better, but for the most part the analog input is the biggie.

For the price the Benchmark products are very good and you won't be disappointed by either one I am sure.

One other thing to think about is the file format you are using. You did mention your Denon sounds better than your current system. Along with the external DAC I would try some different file formats if you can. There is a discussion going on one of the forums here about compressed v. uncompressed where you might find some info or you could ask some other members what they think.

Thanks for the post.