IGNORED

Big Decisions

bdemore

Hello,

I'm a noob here but have some questions.  I'm looking to step up my rather pedestrian audio experiences to the next level.  My base will be a 2011 iMac 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i7.  That much I know…..the rest is torturing me.  I'm debating between a studio monitor set-up or nice bookshelf's and an amp.  In the first instance I've imagined this set-up:

1.) Focal CMS40 Studio Monitor

2.) Focal CMS 11" Subwoofer

3.) Benchmark DAC1 USB

The wiring in this set-up would be through balanced XLR……..I think.

In the second instance, I've imagined a set-up with unpowered speakers and an amp.  My room is small but I like base so would really like a sub.  I am seeking opinions and recommendations on the first set-up…..especially on the DAC side.  I'm also hoping for a comparison between option 1 versus 2.  I'm thinking that going with option 2 would allow me more flexibility in terms of DAC as I could get by with simple analog outs.  If option 2 is selected, I'd lean toward the Wavelength Proton as a DAC.  As you can see, my budget is around the $3,000 mark plus or minus.  I've probably left thongs out and/ or made bad assumptions but that's why I'm seeking advice from the pros!  Thanks in advance.    

It is wide open once you have your iMac as to what is available for listening to music. Simple advice would be to set a rough budget, start going to stores that cater to computer music systems (audio shops, Apple store), and listen, listen, listen to see what YOU like.