IGNORED

Mac, DAC and CD transport

I'm a bit new to all this... I'm planning on getting a really good DAC and while most of the music will be fed from a Mac with an external HDD, I'd like to also have a CD player as part of the setup. But rather than a standalone player, it strikes me as smart to go with a plain CD transport and also run that through the DAC. A DAC can be connected to two sources, no?

If you think that makes sense, I have the following questions...

1. Any recommendations as to a decent transport?

2. What kind of interconnect does a transport typically require? I'm assuing USB or SPIF Toslink for the Mac.

Your input is much appreciated!

What is your price range for a transport?

Yes, a Dac can be connected to two different sources, depending on the Dac. Many allow USB and SPDIF coax & optical (Toslink).

Transports vary, but output will usually include SPDIF coax, which is usually preferable over optical. (No USB, that's a computer standard.) Not sure what you mean by "..for the Mac", since a transport would be connected to your Dac and not your Mac.

Rascal

A: Mac Mini => Peachtree Nova => LFD Integrated Zero Mk.III => Harbeth Compact 7ES-3 | Musical Fidelity X-CAN V-8 => AKG K 701

B: Airport Express = > Benchmark DAC1 => Rega Brio-R => B&W DM 601 S2

C: Airport Express => AudioEngine A2

Rascal:

Re "...for the Mac". I actually said "...from a Mac". And what I meant was that I will be sourcing music mostly via a Mac. In addition, I'd like a CD transport that would ALSO connect to the DAC.

In other words, I'd like music sourced from music files as well as CDs and I'd like both these sources to be fed through the same DAC. The Mac would connect to the DAC for the music files and the CD transport would connect for CDs.

As for price range. I don't really know. At what price point do they start? Not super high-end but something decent.