IGNORED

XLD: Preferences

Sakahara

I'm new to XLD and need insight with setting the preferences for ripping to AIFF.

Ideally I want to rip straight to a dedicated music library external drive, but I noticed XLD did not create folders for Artists and Album as opposed to when it's being ripped to iTunes Music folder. Is there a way to have XLD create these folders or is it manual only? It would be less work since I no longer want/need the music on my iMac (using external drive with music server now). Also, why does iTunes open when using XLD? I want to create bit-perfect rips with XLD (no association with iTunes during import) so I don't have to do this again anytime soon.

Also, can you recommend a external FW/USB optical DVD/CD drive to avoid wear-n-tear on the internal DVD drive?

I've attached screen shots of XLD Pref windows.

Thanks.

Bryston BDP-1, Stereolabs XV Ultra Digital BNC IC, Lampizator L3/Gen3 DAC, solidcoreaudio Silver IC, Thoress F2A11 Integrated, solidcoreaudio Silver Foil Flat Speaker Cables, Thoress FR20CD mkIII Speakers, Entreq Konstantin Power Cords (Furutech FI-25(G) connectors), RSA Haley PC. Tweaks: HiFi Tuning SilverStar Fuses, NOS \'45 Tung-Sol JAN-CTL-12SN7GT Black Round Plates/Bottle (Thoress F2A11), NOS 6N6P Gold Grid (Lampizator). BDP-1 Interface: MPoD - iPad 2/iPhone (Network/Airport Express). Music Formats: AIFF (XLD Extracted Redbook CD - iMac OS X 10.6.7); also FLAC 24/96> downloads.

Hi Sakahara,

XLD can be set up to rip to a folder structure of your choice.

The image below shows a setup for an external drive volume called Music01, such that the created folder and file heirarchy will be AlbumArtist/AlbumTitle/TrackNumber TrackTitle.

The program can use the tag values of each track to create folder and file names automatically.

For example, the setup in the image will result in the following style:

Miles Davis/Kind of Blue/01 So What

Miles Davis/Kind of Blue/02 Freddie Freeloader

Miles Davis/Kind of Blue/03 Blue In Green