IGNORED

Article: The Interview Series | Lonnie Liston Smith

Wow, that was really neat @JoshM. Lonnie seems like such a nice person, with incredible talent. What stood out most to me was his emphasis on the whole, rather than the individual. These two Qs and As speak to me. This way of thinking seems to be gone in so many other facits of life and in a lot of popular music today. A solo artist NOT making it about themself, because the whole is what counts, is so great. The end results (whole) are far better than the sum of the parts.

JM: What I’ve always found kind of interesting about your early-to-mid ‘70s records with Bob is that on a lot of those records your piano is set further back the mix. You’re more like the bandleader. The other instruments would often have the center stage. I was wondering if that was conscious decision of yours to say, “I’m bandleader, and even though I’m a pianist, I’m not foregrounding my piano playing or my keyboard playing or my organ playing. I’m sort-of sitting back and serving the song,” if that makes sense?

LLS: Oh, that’s interesting.... I guess, you’re right. That’s a good point. Because, you know, when you have very talented soloists, you want them to shine. So it didn’t bother me because the keyboards, I was accompanying them.... So I guess I was accompanying what they were doing and letting them shine, because that’s important.

JM: Yeah, yeah. I was just really curious about that, because oftentimes as soon as someone does a solo record, it’s their chance to be up front. But even in your solo stuff, you kind of have this restraint. It’s pretty consistent across a lot of those albums in the in the early run with The Cosmic Echoes, and I didn’t know if that was like a conscious decision you made since you’re writing almost all the songs on all those albums, but they aren’t really structured as like a showcase for your keyboard or piano playing.