IGNORED

Best file format for Mac & converter software

Sagittarius

Hello,

I have my music collection on a PC in a mix of FLAC, Ape and WAV files. I am new to MAC and I would like to covert the audio files to a MAC-friendly format which will hopefully also be PC-friendly. I use Pure Music on the MAC and J. River player on the PC. I am new to MAC computers and due to the amount of effort and time this procees will take, I would like to cut through the trial and error.

- I am considering converting the collection to Apple lossless or AIFF. Are these optimal formats for MAC?

- Are there any recommended converters ? My search has led me to Max for MAC and DBpoweramp for PC. The batch mode of DBpoweramp is particularly useful. However, I got to know that Apple has not documented its Apple Lossless format. Max seems to be using CoreAudio for conversion so I wonder if its conversion is more accurate.

regards,

Hesham

Max and XLD seem to be the converters of choice on the Mac platform. I've used both, but gravitate towards Max as the GUI is more to my liking. I can't speak to the accuracy of either, but they seem to do a great job.

BTW, there's a known problem with Max and OSX 10.6.5 & 10.6.6 in that it can crash when selecting the 'Formats' tab in Preferences. (Doesn't happen each and every time, but it happens more often than not.) The problem has been fixed, but it's only in the "unstable" version that also downloadable from the Max site. (I've been using the unstable version without any issues.)

Russell

MacBook Pro 2021 16” (M1 Pro, 16MB RAM, macOS Ventura) > Audirvana Origin > Pangea Audio USB-AG > Sony TA-ZH1ES > Nordost Heimdall 2 > Audeze LCD-3

It depends what you are looking for, if having album art and metadata is important, AIFF is probably the best bet in the uncompressed formats.