IGNORED

Single 4 Pin XLR headphone cable is balanced, huh?

Apologies in advance for a long OP. But there are a lot of conflicting data points here, leading to some confusion (and ignorance) on my part that I'm hoping someone will be able to clear up.

I’m no electrical engineer. But I think I understand the gist of balanced audio connections… sender sends recipient a signal (positive and negative/ground conductors) plus an inverted signal (3 conductors required now). Recipient overlays the signal with the inverted signal, and anything other than silence in the result is noise that was picked up by the cable in signal transit. Recipient inverts that noise signal and overlays it on the non-inverted signal, and thus any cable noise is stripped from the signal. Easy peasy.

To my mind that’s three conductor per channel. For a pair of stereo headphones, that’s six conductors. So why do there appear to be two channel, single jack/plug, XLR headphone connections out there with only four conductors? I don't understand how that can be possible.

My DAC is a Mytek Brooklyn Bridge. The documentation clearly states that it can accept balanced connections. That is typically done with XLR connections, but it only has two 1/4" headphone connections. But they address that limitation by selling this XLR to dual 1/4" adapter. But here’s the catch. That adapter has only one XLR plug, AND it’s only got four pins. Huh? And the plot thickens…

I have a pair of Focal Stellia cans on order. They supply two cables. A short one (~1m) with your typical 3.5mm termination. But the other one is a long ~3m cable, a length more suitable for a balanced connection. And lo and behold, that cable is XLR terminated. But it is only one 4 pin XLR connector. With only four conductors, how can that be balanced? The same way Mytek is pulling it off? Whatever that is...