IGNORED

Help for a complete beginner

Hello everyone, I'm interested in setting up a computer based music system to hook up to my Naim system. At the moment I have an old laptop and an even older pc. For my ipod (classic) I have about 100gig of music in my iTunes library stored on an external hard drive. An ADSL router/modem (non wireless) is hooked up to the pc and a usb modem to the laptop.

This is what I'd like to do:

Setup a wireless network, maybe getting a router that allows a hard drive connection.

Get a new laptop and Mac Mini

Stream from the hard drive to the Mac Mini

Control iTunes using laptop or iphone/touch

Connect DAC from Mini to HiFi

Does this sound feasible? Should I forget the laptop/Mac Mini and get a Macbook instead? If so can I install xp, how does this work? Is the Macbook noisy compared to the Mini?

Any recommendations on routers I could look at?

Any recommendations on DAC's that would have good synergy with a Naim system? Over at the Naim forum they're raving about the Lavry DA10, anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks

Ade

Ade.

You are exactly on the right track. The best decision you have made is to go with MAC's. But take it further. Ditch the idea of installing xp. Everything can be done so much easier with Leopard.

I have both an itunes/mac mini and a sonos all networked on the one apple wifi network. To keep this simple, I use a Time capsule (which contains both a great router/wifi and backup solution in one.) You can tack on an additional drive if you want via USB. Control of both itunes and sonos is now dead easy with an iphone/itouch.