IGNORED

upgrades in what order? Newbie alert!

schotter

Hi all,

I am new to this. Will spare you the details of my listening habits but only this much: I am looking for convenience (next to my CD/vinyl/SET amp setup) which suits everyday listening while doing other stuff; hence no true audiophile, probably more an 'overall acceptable Hi-Fi sound'.

I am sure the question has been answered here before (...but it quickly gets into detailed and specific recommendations) but I am wondering in what order I should approach things (Mac/Itunes based, files are 50% MP3s and 50% Apple Lossless, amp and speakers exist):

1st step / low-fi:

Listening to part MP3s (streaming from an Ipad/Iphone)

through Airport Express.

Does an external DAC make sense or should I just use the headphone out w. an o.k. interconnect?

If the DAC does make sense in combo w. Airport Express, is optical-out-to-DAC better than USB-to-DAC?

Next step up: If finally going for a Mac Mini 'music server'(using Iphone as remote), what would come first / second in your experience?

-Interconnect?

-DAC?

-software?

If you're sticking with the Airport Express, the (mini-toslink) optical output is your only option. The usb on the unit is just for a printer and will not output to a dac. Playback software is (in my experience) not a factor in this configuration, but will make a difference if you move to a mac mini feeding your dac directly.

Regarding interconnects, personally I couldn't detect much difference between a £20 Cambridge toslink with the ugly adapter, and a £60 Van den Hul optocoupler with mini-toslink in the Airport Express to dac configuration. But I thought there was some benefit with the more expensive cable when going direct from macbook to dac (and with higher res material than redbook). Dac was a Cambridge DACMagic.