IGNORED

Amps

Gutterball1985

Question

Hi everyone. I’m a new to this world. I recently picked up a pair of Klipsch Cornwall IIs and I’m looking for an amplifier.  I think I want a tube amp, not solid state, but I’m open to possibilities. 

I’d like to keep the amp under 1k if possible.  Just looking for suggestions! 

thanks in advance.

10 answers to this question

6 hours ago, Gutterball1985 said:

Hi everyone. I’m a new to this world. I recently picked up a pair of Klipsch Cornwall IIs and I’m looking for an amplifier.  I think I want a tube amp, not solid state, but I’m open to possibilities. 

thanks in advance.

mmm, could be a sub optimal spend. What will you be using as source + pre? If these aren't good, with 101 db efficiency you could spend $450 on a

NAD C 316BEE and have $500 left to upgrade elsewhere. Tubes are nice but source solution is what makes/breaks system potential.

Regards,

Dave

Audio system

Hi Dave. Thanks.  Ok, I need to decode  that a bit; total newb here. Source- I think you’re referring to my bluesound DAC&streamer. Is that what you mean by source?

I don’t have a preamp with it—yet. Currently using a schitt (single stage) amp. But not getting the mids or the warmth I’d like. 

open to preamp suggestions too. I generally have preferred the tube amp sound. 

thanks!

12 hours ago, Gutterball1985 said:

thanks in advance.

Here's an option for you. It is a few bucks over your price budget but has several solid reviews under its belt. I've not heard it myself but might be worth a look

https://www.rogueaudio.com/Products_sphinx.htm

And a nice detailed review here with test bench measurements by JA

https://www.stereophile.com/content/rogue-audio-sphinx-integrated-amplifier

20 hours ago, Gutterball1985 said:

Hi Dave. Thanks.  Ok, I need to decode  that a bit; total newb here. Source- I think you’re referring to my bluesound DAC&streamer. Is that what you mean by source?