IGNORED

Drive encryption (asking for a good friend)

Hi, thanks for reading this!
I am a total noob when it comes to encryption.
Are you guys using drive encryption for your Backup, NAS and PC and
which effect does it have on streaming from live machines?
Is there any particular software that does it better than others ?

Bon week-end, Tom

I use encryption everywhere to protect my files mostly from burglary.
Most CPU have dedicated functions for encryption (AES) making the overhead on the CPU pretty low.

On the NAS (freenas) and my backup online (Crashplan) I use the dedicated functions, on Windows I use BitLocker.

I don't use an external hard drive for backup, if I had to, I'll get one with hardware encryption and use that.

1 hour ago, DuckToller said:

Thanks for your response, which made me wondering if there is 

any reason for that other that I am a noob about disk encryption ?

It’s another layer to remember and work around. Even Microsoft backup of the OS to another drive strips the encryption.

For backups of music files I encrypt mainly if stolen, the drive is worthless to the thief who are not that bright to begin with.

AS Profile Equipment List        Say NO to MQA

5 hours ago, DuckToller said:

I am a total noob when it comes to encryption.
Are you guys using drive encryption for your Backup, NAS and PC and
which effect does it have on streaming from live machines?
Is there any particular software that does it better than others ?

Yes, all my drives are encrypted.

And as long as software uses the hardware implementation built into modern CPUs, it is super fast.

Signalyst - Developer of HQPlayer

Pulse & Fidelity - Software Defined Amplifiers

Thank you @Miska for your response.
Are there any known problems in interoperability between Linux and Windows operated systems regarding the encryption layer?