IGNORED

Serious help for a simple problem

SNJay

Question

Hello there. I run a YouTube channel where I make video essays on shows/movies that I like. Currently, to record my voice, I use an ElectroVoice RE20 with a Focusrite Scarlett Solo and Cloudlifter for more gain.

I'll link a video from my channel below. But, I feel like my audio balancing may be off, and/or my microphone recording has too much gain. I lowered the gain on the Focusrite, but when I go to master my audio and normalize it to -3 DB (from the many tutorials I've seen on YouTube for Adobe Audition mastering). I am a beginner with audio editing, but I'm aware it's not the best I can do with the stellar equipment I've managed to assemble, and that I'm capable of outputting better audio.

So, I'm asking if it's possible for someone to firstly: see IF I DO have an audio issue, and if so, HOW can I improve my audio during the processing phase. Because, people who use the RE 20 (podcasters, radio stations, professional youtubers who are much better than me) can and ALWAYS have superior balanced audio then me. I would like to see at least how I can get a start in fixing my audio.

Just for reference, this is my most recent video where I used said audio setup: 

Thanks for reading, have a nice day

4 answers to this question

5 minutes ago, SNJay said:

Hello there. I run a YouTube channel where I make video essays on shows/movies that I like. Currently, to record my voice, I use an ElectroVoice RE20 with a Focusrite Scarlett Solo and Cloudlifter for more gain.