IGNORED

help troubleshooting Teradak PSU requested

Niko

Hi folks,

one (SATA HDD) plug of my Teradak 380W PSU, used to drive my music PC, stopped suddenly working. This already happened once a couple of weeks ago, and by the time i checked the hdd and other components, it was back to life. Unfortunately, it didn't happened this way this time.

I opened the case and found no short circuit or burning evidence. Everything seemed to be ok. No overheating either. I checked the DC output pins and their voltage was around 1V for each pin, PSU on and 2,8V PSU off, but plugged. 

As I have no knowledge at all in electronics, i would have to use the services of a professional and ship the unit within the country or abroad, which could quickly turn out to be expensive. Therefore, i would appreciate if someone could help me troubleshoot this PSU a little bit further, before to proceed. If something would have burnt, i guess this would have happened the first time already, right ? Maybe it's just the cable, but how to know ? 

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Nico

Cables .jpg

Did you check voltage at the cable pin outs or at the PSU itself

both:

First at the PSU (outside)

and at the cable pin end now, where i got 0.761 PSU on and 1.961 PSU off. Then i turned if off and on again and i got 0.866 this time.

Have you tried another SATA disk device and checked in BIOS to see if it was recognized?

Yes i tried to power up another sata drive, which didn't work either.

With another PSU, The initial SATA drive works fine and is recognized in the bios, even though, the bios drive boot order got swapped randomly as couple of times recently. But this latter point has probably nothing to do with the PSU.