IGNORED

Article: McIntosh MC1502 Vacuum Tube Amplifier and C22 Vacuum Tube Preamplifier Mk V

1 hour ago, bluesman said:

Great to see this! Mac tube preamps have always been among the most natural I've heard.  The first truly high end piece I bought new was an MX110 tuner/preamp in 1969.  Driving the Dyna Mk III power amps I built and modified to about halfway between stock and an early Audio Research product, the sound was so wonderful that I often had trouble studying (I was a med student at the time).

What I never understood was how the early audiophile press could slam McIntosh so hard and so often.  If I didn't know better, I'd have assumed there was some reason other than sound quality, build quality, or aesthetics :) 

I have an MC275 Mk V and I'll never sell it. I love the sound and the look. 

Audiophile press can be strange. When things look good they are often placed in the "it can't sound good" camp, as if the two things are mutually exclusive. 

Founder of Audiophile Style | My Audio Systems AudiophileStyleStickerWhite2.0.png AudiophileStyleStickerWhite7.1.4.png

We have been hunting for a new amp the past year. It started with the purchase of new speakers. We heard our new speakers with our amp (a Primare), and were quite happy with the results. As time went by, and we got accustomed with the speakers, we noticed distortion, especially in the high and with bad recordings (Doors, Riders on the Storm was the trigger).

A dealer invited us for a Mac demo (the new MA352, the Anniversary Set, and those 2Kw-behemoths were on the menu (coupled with Sonus Faber speakers). The MA352 did not impress us, the Anniversary Set is simply gorgeous (the best amp I have heard), but too expensive for us (let's skip the 2Kw's). 

So we looked around. Heard the MA352 again (but in not very favorable conditions). Liked Esoteric, was lukewarm to Moon, did not like Anthem, and so on...