IGNORED

Worlds Greatest DAC and what it does differently

First off I am a layman when it comes to audio engineering....i know very little, even less than 10 percentile of those active on this forum. I will have ridiculously stupid questions, and will want to understand things on the most simplest terms. I am ADD and a bit scatter-brained, so please work with me, as many times I may think that what others believe are not related where I do. Anyway, on to the topic at hand.

Of course the greatest DAC in the world will do many things more that my "hypothetical" dac will do...but for the purpose of this discussion, there is only one thing this DAC will do that no other DAC can do..

In my understanding the purpose of the DAC is to "accurately" recreate the analog waveform that which was recorded from analog to digital.

To keep things "simple" the only purpose of this dac is to output a near perfect 1khz sine wave that was accurately recorded and digitized into a 1 second 44.1K wav file.

IMHO, The person that is deserving of the most respect on this webiste (MISKA), suggests not only can a DAC not accurately reproduce a 1K sine output, but that the final analog output that is just trying to accurately recreate this 1K sine wave, will be "VASTLY DIFFERENT" between 2 dacs, say a Schiit MB PCM dac and an RME ADI-2, even given all the other same hardware and source file.

If DAC engineers cannot create a DAC that I would consider (as a layman) should be a relatively simple chore, then we need a DAC that is capable of doing this FIRST before we worry about more advanced features.   Is it not possible for a DAC engineer (or even a team of the most skilled engineers) to create a DAC that is capable of reproducing a 1K sine wave that is relatively accurate?

Also, if modern day DACS are not even capable of performing with some bit of accuracy the most simplest of functions, then imho it would be ignorant to pay much for any dac.

20 minutes ago, beerandmusic said: