IGNORED

PC for stereo streaming; what to prioritize?

I have a Cambridge Edge A integrated amp, Martin Logan Vistas, and a Denon DVD-5900 as the primary source (used for audio only) for my CD and SACD collection. I use its digital coax out direct to the Edge for CDs. Sometimes I stream Tidal from my laptop connected via USB, but I want to add something better and more permanent. I've been reading these forums and gaining knowledge, but these threads can quickly go DEEP into the weeds. I'm looking for pointers on how to start planning a PC that would be a good fit. What should my priorities be?

I'm a software engineer, I have no problem building a PC, I've used linux as my primary OS for more than 15 years, and so I gravitate toward having a PC of some kind where I can have control of the software, upgrade software over time, and perhaps just use VNC or remote desktop to control the thing. I want to end up with the ability to stream Tidal or other high-quality services, potentially with video (like the Berlin Phil Digital Concert Hall), and I guess other mainstream video. I do not yet own a TV, so advice on that is also welcome. (Maybe I should plan to stream video sources direct from the TV? Haven't owned a modern TV, so I don't have experience there.)

I mostly listen to classical and some jazz, and I had a ~10 year career as a classical musician before the software industry lured me away, so my ear is picky about quality and accuracy.

Hardware: I'm reading in this forum about being fanless, linear power supply, using particular RAM, isolating the SSD's power, or having no local storage at all, having a dedicated high-end USB card, isolating power to that too, .... Then I'm also reading about people using NUCs or even raspberry pis. Can you help me digest and prioritize these things? What would be a good fit for my setup to produce a high-quality stereo source? Or is this whole idea crazy, and I should just get a Bluesound Node 2i or similar?