IGNORED

Please help a total newby

Hello,

I am new to streaming. Never done it before. I have a decent 2 channel system in my basement, a dedicated room. There is no wifi or ethernet access there and I can not hardwire internet to that location. So, i am stuck with offline streaming only. I have a windows 10 laptop, an android phone, and a great external DAC I would like to use. Can you help me put together a system for offline streaming high rez files from Tidal or Qobuz? I need an uncompromised signal into my Denafrips DAC. I was thinking Pi4 with volumio software but not sure. How would I get the downloaded sequence of tracks to the Pi4? Bluetooth? Wifi repeater? I am confused. Thanks in advance.

I think I understand what you are trying to do but it might be difficult to accomplish in practice.

I'm currently using a comparable streaming service (Amazon Music) on my desktop computer. The Amazon Music app allows me to download content and play back the downloaded content from that computer. I can't, however, transfer the downloaded files to another device for playback because they are stored locally in a proprietary format to prevent piracy. I would expect Tidal and Qobuz to do the same.

I think your options are one of the following:

1. Download the content onto a device such as a phone or tablet that can be easily moved from where you have Internet access to where you don't

2. Extend your Internet access down to the basement using one of the methods that others have suggested

Sometimes it's like someone took a knife, baby
Edgy and dull and cut a six inch valley
Through the middle of my skull

2 hours ago, shumi said:

ow would I get the downloaded sequence of tracks to the Pi4? Bluetooth? Wifi repeater? I am confused. Thanks in advance.

First of all, Welcome to Audiophile Style, shumi !