IGNORED

New Forum Member and Hello!

Juston

Hello all,

I ran across this forum after reading Austinpop's DAC review series. I'm relatively new to hifi, though I've been a lifelong lover of music (and a musician). It's only recently that it occurred to me that I've really been missing the full potential of my music. I've known for many years having played through very high end tube amps for electric guitar that these little hifi speaker systems that are becoming popular these days aren't particularly good at reproducing the true spectrum of the music I listen to. I always felt the biggest deficit was the mid-range . . . compared to my 4x12" speaker cabinet for my guitar, these little systems just couldn't keep up.

I've jumped headlong into the hifi rabbit hole and am quickly amassing both a headphone solution for work and a robust solution for music and theater at home.

I've been working with a local hifi shop called Music Lovers in Berkeley, CA. Here's where things stand today:

1) Paradigm Persona surround system in combination with a Sony A9G TV. This is currently being driven by the Arcam AVR30 (which has been a very buggy system).

2) I'm going to be adding the Ayre QX-5 Twenty and AX-5 Twenty to the towers and pass the audio from the Arcam through when watching movies. I'm pretty heavily into music, so the stereo sound is important to me.

3) I'm currently in the process of ripping my CD collection (again) into lossless format and have gotten a Roon Nucleus server for home. I've subscribed to Tidal and Qobuz to round out music I don't have.

4) I have a Transparent Reference Power Isolator on the way to help eliminate some noise in my AC supply. 

5) My work setup is a set of Focal Utopias with a Codex. Like Austinpops, I'm on the hunt for something a little better. I'm considering the Chord Hugo TT 2 and M Scaler.