IGNORED

What gear for multi-channel audio

I'm trying to set up a rig with which I can play or stream multi-channel DSD files to my speakers.  I'm not an expert in this area (I've been playing SACDs so far), so am hoping you can help me.

I'm planning on using an Exasound e38 DAC that will decode the DSD and send the signals to a switcher and then to my speakers.  (The other input of the switcher will be my AV receiver that natively decodes DSD from SACDs etc.). 

Does this make sense?  Do I need a power amp between the DAC and the switcher?  Recommendations for the amp and switcher?  I'm an audiophile-at-a-reasonable-price.  My budget is say, $5k.

Please note that I don't care about the Dolby Atmos and all the other hype in that area.  I have another receiver that can handle all that.

Thank you.

10 hours ago, ssmaudio said:

I'm planning on using an Exasound e38 DAC that will decode the DSD and send the signals to a switcher and then to my speakers.  (The other input of the switcher will be my AV receiver that natively decodes DSD from SACDs etc.). 

Does this make sense?  Do I need a power amp between the DAC and the switcher?

Are your speakers self-powered (i.e., do they have built-in amplifiers)?  Is the output of the AVR from the speaker terminals?

If the answers to these questions are No and Yes, respectively, then you will need an amplifier, preferably with a volume control for the exaSound output.  

Does your music player feeding the exaSound have a volume control?  The exaSound up/down buttons are not convenient, imho.

I do not know what your AVR is but some offer multichannel analog inputs and direct/unprocessed feedthrough.  That might be an alternative.

Kal Rubinson

Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile

The No and Yes are correct. Ok, so I need an amp.