IGNORED

Old Person asking a dumb question, please.

Hi all,

I have an originally purchased 1977 Marantz 2252 receiver, driving MA-1 speakers.  It handles my Denon CD player well, but it will not perform with a portable music player, such as an iPod Classic.  The playable volume is greatly reduced and when I try to increase it I hear a relay inside the Marantz click and the volume drops to zero, until I back it off, whereupon it resumes playing.  It feels like a power insufficiency on the part of the iPod. 

Now I've added a Hiby R6 Pro that exhibits the same characteristics, but at a higher volume level, as if the R6 is putting out more power than the old iPod, but not enough to push the sound through the Marantz, and it is protecting itself by tripping that relay.  It may all be a construct of my imagination, seeing as how I have very little knowledge of electronics.

My question boils down to this:  Does the R6 Pro need a DAC to talk to the analog Marantz?  Does the R6 Pro need a pre-amp to provide enough signal for the Marantz?  Is it one or both (or neither) of these?  The R6 Pro plays fine through the car's stereo, but I assume there is a DAC in the dash, since it has a CD player.

AFAIK, the Marantz is still in proper working order.  Any advice you could give this fossil would be greatly appreciated. 

Many thanks, 

Philbin

Hi Phibin,

I suppose you are connecting the iPod using the mini jack split to RCA.  Have you tried other inputs. You can also try AUX or Tape in. If have the manual that will be helpful. I suspect the output sensitivity from the iPod is too low or maybe the input of your receiver inputs are probably aged. A picture can be more helpful. 

ST

22 hours ago, STC said:

Hi Phibin,