IGNORED

iPod connection vs iTunes streaming with air express

I'm new to high end stereo music and trying to understand if an iPod connection to my new integrated amplifier would produce a better sound than streaming through an Apple air express using an optical input. I currently stream to a high end headphone amplifier and it has been very convenient, but with my new speaker-based system I want the best sound from my iTunes and I have just about all the music that i care about in lossless on both the computer and my classic iPod. Is this something I just have to audition, or is one approach clearly superior? Thanks.

PS. How much of a difference does an external DAC make, whether streaming or using an iPod? Thanks.

Daniel

Hi Daniel-

I've been playing around with this myself. It all depends on how much you are looking to spend - I usually am shopping in the sub $500 market for DACs. If you have more to spend, please check out Chris's reviews on the home page of this site.

3 possible scenarios:

1. iPod directly into Stereo (Downside - cant use the Apple Remote App - which is very cool!)

1a. External iPod Doc using iPod's internal DAC into Integrated Amp I've tried a few of these, and the Cambridge Audio iPOD doc iD50 is the best, but it is still $200.

1b. External iPod Doc bypassing iPod DAC into an external DAC then into the Amp. Wadia i170/1 ($400) into a Cambridge Audio DAC Magic ($430) or MF vDAC ($300) via coax/toslink seems the best value here.

2. Computer into DAC into Int Amp with computer next to DAC&Amp using USB. This option is probably going to yield the best Sound Quality, but you will trade off convenience since you will need your PC next to the stereo. The Arcam rDAC ($480) seems to be the clear value winner in this segment with the best jitter correction. Many people also like the HRT Music Steamer II+ and the Centrance USB DAc too.