IGNORED

Beyer DT 1990 Pro

porto

Question

Hi all!

I have a DAP, the Cowon Plenue D2 as source and I am thinking in buying the Beyerdynamic DT1990 Pro headphones.

My question: Will the headphones "play well" on the DAP or do you thinl I will be needing a stronger source such as a specific DAP? 

Please click here

to see the specs from Cowon.
I am a complete newbie on these thinks to be honest, but I think I would be fine. I just want your "green light" and be 100% sure before buying the headphones.

Thank you all!

14 answers to this question

I've owned the DT 1990 for about a year. Truly great headphones, especially with the neutral sounding Analytical pads. They are 250 ohms, which is on the high side, but the also-high 102dB/mW sensitivity makes them surprisingly easy to drive. I have not found them to be excessively demanding of a great DAC. Quite the opposite in fact, they are rather forgiving.

Of course sound quality improves considerably with better amps and DACs, but even with my Samsung A5 mobile phone, the available volume exceeds my tolerance level. I formerly drove them with 70mV output from a Korg DAC/headphone amp. With my Schiit Asgard 2, I always use the slightly cleaner low-gain setting.

The Plenue with 2V output will have way more than enough power to drive these headphones. Note that the DT 1990 is unbalanced, therefore unable to take advantage of the Plenue 2's unbalanced output, if that matters to you (should not matter, IMO). 

Main System: QNAP TS-451+ NAS > Silent Angel Bonn N8 > Sonore opticalModule Deluxe v2 > Corning SMF with Finisar FTLF1318P3BTL SFPs > Uptone EtherREGEN > exaSound PlayPoint and e32 Mk-II DAC > Meitner MTR-101 Plus monoblocks > Bamberg S5-MTM sealed standmount speakers. 

Crown XLi 1500 powering  AV123 Rocket UFW10 stereo subwoofers

Upgraded power on all switches, renderer and DAC.