IGNORED

earphones VS DAP money priority

Hi there!

Whats more important, good earphones or a good DAP?

Another way of thinking would be if you were going to buy a system consisted of earphones and a digital audio player and both components each on a scale 1 through 10, 10 being perfect, added together need to equal 10. Is it better lets say to get earphones that are 7/10 and a DAP 3/10 or get it the other way, DAP 7/10 and earphones 3/10, maybe both 5/10. I am a newbie and I would like to have your experienced opinion. Currently, I have a budget of 800usd for the system (earphones and DAP)

Thank you all

I am at this moment listening to Audioquest Nightowl Carbon headphones being driven by a Pono.  I figure I spent right around your budget for this combo, and this combo has given me many hours of delightful listenting.  Unfortunately, both have been discontinued, but the Nightowls can still be found for $399.  If you can snag a pair of these, that'll leave you half your budget for a DAP.  I'm not sure what to suggest at that price point, so I'll be interested in what others have to say.

So back to your question, I think I'd say they are equally important.  But headphones are a very personal thing - where comfort and reliability factor in as well.  Maybe the best bet is to find a headphone you really like and then build around them.

Digital:  Sonore opticalModule > Uptone EtherRegen > Shunyata Sigma Ethernet > Antipodes K30 > Shunyata Omega USB > Gustard X26pro DAC < Mutec REF10 SE120

Amp & Speakers:  Spectral DMA-150mk2 > Aerial 10T

Foundation: Stillpoints Ultra, Shunyata Denali v1 and Typhon x1 power conditioners, Shunyata Delta v2 and QSA Lanedri Gamma Revelation and Infinity power cords, QSA Lanedri Gamma Revelation XLR interconnect, Shunyata Sigma Ethernet, MIT Matrix HD 60 speaker cables, GIK bass traps, ASC Isothermal tube traps, Stillpoints Aperture panels, Quadraspire SVT rack, PGGB 256