IGNORED

Decibel production versus Watts of the amplifier

Aragorn

Question

Hello,

I want to ask following question. I am NO expert. Let this be clear, so don't shoot please.

I have a whole collection of Audio. And in that, about 30 amplifiers.

But I am going to pick 3 as to compare them in decibel production versus the Ampliers specs.

1. The Cyrus 7.  Rated at 40 Watt per channel at 8 ohm.

2. A Chinese Classic Yyshung 08 power amp with a preamp. 125 Watt in 8 ohm, 240 in 4 ohm.

3. And my worry Amp. The Thule IA150B.  125 Watt in 8 ohm, 250 in 4 ohm.

last one got overheated, replaced him. Let him cool off. Morning after he was "fine".

Fine, well to me not 100%. Even before the heating problem. 

The volume knob goes to 80 de in steps of 1 db.

I need 40 on the display to have a moderate decibel production. That is 12 o clock.

number 2 only needs the volume at about 7 o clock or less for the same decibel production.

Number 1, the Cyrus with 40 watts needs ALSO about 8 o clock. At 12 o clock you have to begin start running away. Awesome.

The Thule has 16 Transistors to attain the 125 Watts.

still he lacks in DBs .  Clearly . Radio is louder than a cd or internet.

but that is not the issue.

Do I have a problem with my gorgeous Thule, having only 2 inputs. But Creek doesn't do better.

Do I need him being serviced.

40 DBs for a 125 Watt amp and , regardless of the speakers, the DBS do not 🔥 fire.

It is disappointing in a way, Other Thule owners reported other problems .

did some of the 16 transistors die ???

Cyrus are beasts. Like NAD. With 25 watt they blow you away. English of course.

So. If anyone can give some advise or comment please do.

In fact, I have the same issue with the Rega Elicit. Software sensored volume knob.

He also needs 11 o clock for some good sound. Being not the cheapest Amp.

Marantzes, Denons, Sansuis all score much higher than the Thule.