IGNORED

Digital Audio First Steps beyond CD?

I am a newbie to this forum, but a long time audio enthusiast with a pretty decent older system that is looking to make his first serious move into digital audio beyond the CD & am looking to the collective wisdom here to determine my next steps. I am a complete dinosaur when it comes to digital music beyond the traditional CD player, although I did experiment several years ago with using Windows Media Player to store & playback CD's & really liked the convienance in having a large number of CD's readily available & nicely organized. Unfortunately, the sound quality wasn't up to par & the typical Microsoft software updates & upgrades(?) made things difficult, as well. So, that whole thing went onto a back burner & I have been relying on the CD's themselves. 

I have recently visited a local high-end hifi dealer here in the SF Bay Area & was very suitably impressed with a digital music server, running a separate DAC & using stored CD music files for running streaming audio from an online service called Tidal. The total outlay for this music server, plus DAC was in the neighborhood of $5k-6k which is a pretty sizable chunk for a retired guy living on a fixed income. So, i am looking for ways to move into a system like this, but with smaller incremental steps without painting myself into a corner. I have no doubt that my final total outlay will still be about the same, but I am thinking evolution, over revolution, in terms of both equipment & user knowledge.