Rate this topic

Looking to go with a dedicated digital music server and will require a NAS for the music that I own.

Music library is large, guessing between 18-20T and will archive more as time allows. 

Because of the large music library I'm trying to figure out if a cache of the hard drive makes sense as Aurender and Innous

do this in the servers.

Reading on the different NAS and Qnap, Synology and Drobo and that they can be bough with space available to do the caching

in the NAS itself.

Is anyone doing this and what would be your suggestion or recommendations please.

I'm new to this so sorry for question but need to learn from the people that have a better grip on this than just reading and watching Youtube.

Thank you for your time.

Remote  server cache "serves" no purpose for audio; the examples your are looking at (Aurender and Innuos) are caching directly attached hard drives.

When data is sent over IP the media player will always use a buffer because of network latency and jitter. What becomes important then is whether

the NAS supports value add software like Roonserver where RAAT protocol can offer better results than plain vanilla UPNP. If you use an enhanced server

application at  the NAS and a high performance endpoint, some are finding better sound from increased buffer, likely due to less CPU activity from handling network traffic concurrent with audio playback

Regards,

Dave

Audio system

Sorry if I was misleading.

My thought was that if Aurender & Innous both do cache for their servers then why not in a NAS that stores my music.

What I meant is that both Qnap and Synology have  NAS's that have 4,6 or 8 bay hard drives and in addition they also have two slots for 2.5 SSD to cache in order for  the NAS  to behave faster . 

If this isn't necessary then I won't spend the extra coin.

The NAS  will only be used as a music storage device.

Roon, server portion along with the streamer is in a separate box which will be in my music room.