IGNORED

Help in deciding best compact wireless bookshelf speakers

RYEFI

Question

I am new to the forum and would appreciate help in deciding between KEF LSX, Xeo 2 and Q acoustics. I would be using these speakers with my turntable and Bluetooth sources as well as some tv use. I am willing to spend the big money on the KEF’s if they are that far ahead of the others. However, I am a novice and I could save the money and upgrade my turntable if I choose a cheaper pair of speakers. Any advice and suggestions will be very much appreciated! Thanks in advance.

7 answers to this question

On 2/23/2019 at 8:35 AM, RYEFI said:

I am new to the forum and would appreciate help in deciding between KEF LSX, Xeo 2 and Q acoustics. I would be using these speakers with my turntable and Bluetooth sources as well as some tv use. I am willing to spend the big money on the KEF’s if they are that far ahead of the others. However, I am a novice and I could save the money and upgrade my turntable if I choose a cheaper pair of speakers. Any advice and suggestions will be very much appreciated! Thanks in advance.

The KEF does not have L/R RCA jacks to connect a turntable/phono preamp so you would need RCA=>3.5mm cable.  But the KEF does have an RJ45 connection which is cool.  Note that the BT on the KEF is 4.2...other powered/BT speakers now have BT 5.0 if that matters to you (Audioengine).  

All three have great reviews.  Unfortunately I have not heard any of these (I have Edifier S1000DB - which I really like but have put them in a setup to really critique: Setup as TV speakers in a bad room and background noise and now in garage).  If it was me, and I had the budget, I would spring for the Dynaudio XEO4 which comes with the Connect Transmitter.  Otherwise, I do not think you can go too wrong with any of the choices.