IGNORED

Books and Resources on Digital Audio Synthesis and processing

Rusde

Question

Hey,

I'm a programmer and hobbyist musician and would love to combine the two, but I need some help finding a starting point.

I want to get into the nitty gritty programming of how a computer works with sound e.g. how computers take in a digital signal and play around it, how to synthesize sound digitally and how sound can be processed and outputted to different systems. my end goal is being able to create my own sound processors and make a simple DAW for my own use...

what are some great pieces of resources and books that can help me get involved in coding my own sound processing systems.

any help is greatly appreciated

11 answers to this question

Thank-you for all the suggestions.

I have found many of them helpful and have decided to collate them into a post and close the thread, hopefully this helps anyone else who wants to follow me down the same path.

The Audio Programmer: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpKb02FsH4WH4X_2xhIoJ1A

has an incredible anthology of video tutorials detailing how to produce and process audio signals and many easy to use IDE and libraries.

The Scientist and Engineer's Guide to
Digital Signal Processing
: https://www.dspguide.com/ch4.htm

Great resource getting into the nitty gritty of Digital Signal processing, really helped me debug some of my logic errors in my code. suggested by @lucretius

`Understanding Digital Signal Processing' by Richard G. Lyons:  http://www.iro.umontreal.ca/~mignotte/IFT3205/Documents/UnderstandingDigitalSignalProcessing.pdf

Great resource that talks about the natural science that comes into play when processing digital signals. suggested by @yamamoto2002

'Designing Digital Circuits' by Jonathon Turner:  https://www.arl.wustl.edu/~jst/cse/260/ddc.pdf