IGNORED

Want to dump my internal sound card. What are good audio options?

I hope I am in the right forum for my question....

When I had my Win7 Core i7 desktop built I bought a pricey ASUS Xonar Essence Sound STX II Card for it.  It replaced a Sound Blaster card I had moved up from computer to computer for decades.  Right away I didn't like the audio quality of the ASUS card, but I wouldn't be writing for replacement advice if it that was the only problem.  The real problem is I just can’t keep the darn thing working!  

Meanwhile, i have become a more informed wannabe audiophile.  I know I would get better audio from external audio components, but I have zero experience knowing what I would need.  I have long standing audiophile aspirations but with the usual financial limitations.    I have a pretty nice sounding audio setup at the computer, an Audiomat Arpege integrated tube amp, Spendor S3/5 Monitors speakers. I am also trialing Roon and I believe I might need something here to act as a Roon endpoint. FWIW, I will be running Roon at three other household  Stereo systems.)

What are some good mid-priced options?

1E739D53-B1F9-4F54-A8C9-9E537D99471E.jpeg

The choices for a Roon endpoint are quite varied as far as price and performance goes. A list of network ready Roon endpoints are available from these manufacturers. The big plus for Networked Players, is you can ditch the sound card, and use the standard motherboard audio card for dings and squawks.