IGNORED

Which computer to use with a DAC

I am new to this but having been an NPR station manager and classical engineer and producer, I am very picky about audio quality. I have now acquired a pair of Orb2s (extremely good for desktop use BTW) a decent amp and and entry level USB dac. I am also about to buy a new computer. I am looking at three, An Alienware, a Toshiba, and a Macbook Pro. All three are their respective bests with I7 processors. Which one will provide the best USB output to use with an external DAC? Does it make any differece? If so, why? Thanks in advance. Dr. John Dozier

Dr. John (had to say that),

I too prefer Mac. There is no panacea, but Macintosh is easier to set up and maintain for music (and other things as well).

Forrest:

Win10 i9 9900KS/GTX1060 HQPlayer4>Win10 NAA

DSD>Pavel's DSC2.6>Bent Audio TAP>

Parasound JC1>"Naked" Quad ESL63/Tannoy PS350B subs<100Hz

There should be no difference in USB capability between any of the machines. USB protocol isn’t computer make dependant really.

It either has USB 1.1 and/or 2.0 or it doesn’t.

(that was the question you asked wasn't it. You didn't ask for a debate about win v mac did you?)

Dedicated Mains Cond dis block. Custom Linux Voyage MPD server. HRT Music Streamer Pro, Linear mains powered ADUM Belkin Gold USB cable. TP Buffalo 11, Custom XLR interconnects/Belkin Silver Series RCA. Exposure 21RC Pre, Super 18 Power (recap & modified). Modded World Audio HD83 HP amp.Van de Hull hybrid air lock speaker cables. Custom 3 way Monitors,Volt 250 bass&ABR, Scanspeak 13M8621Mid & D2905/9300Hi. HD595 cans.[br]2)Quantum Elec based active system self built.

Cool, just checking ;)