IGNORED

New gear and measurements

MayInJune

Question

Hi, newbie here, need some advice plz.
I am looking for new equipment: streamer, dac, amplification, speaker. Got a few questions:
1. Which are the most important technical specifications published for audio gear, and
2. how would these measurements be audible in sq?
3 .Which specs are important to match between gear throughout an audio chain?

Thanks in advance. MiJ

14 answers to this question

This is a HUGE question! and is the subject of absolutely furious debates that have been ongoing for decades.?

All comments are IMO.

1. The most important spec is the price--it needs to be within your range.

2. Generally, although with numerous exceptions, the higher the price the better the sound.

3. Most regular gear these days is readily interconnectable.

Speakers, the room, and the set-up are the most individual and will make the most obvious differences in the overall sound.

Starting at the source, once anything in the music is lost it's lost forever and can't be regained further down the chain.

The ultimate choice remains with you--if you like it, it's good; if you don't, it's not; no matter what the specs say. Published specs may only be reliable if the tester and the test is competent and honest. Manufacturers' specs and statements are PR and are designed to sell the gear.

The most important thing is that you enjoy the music. Listen to as much as you can in your room and compare the enjoyment, not the bass, treble, etc. And have fun.?

15 hours ago, MayInJune said:

Which are the most important technical specifications published for audio gear

THD+N, IMD, crosstalk, DR, S/N, crossover distortion, maximum load, output impedance, no-load voltage, load voltage, jitter, filtering, oversampling, frequency response to name a few

15 hours ago, MayInJune said:

how would these measurements be audible in sq?