IGNORED

What is Audio Architecture of Windows 7

Novice here on Audio Architecture, especially WASAPI and Kernel

Streaming. Wikipaedia claims KMixer was removed in Windows

Vista, is this the same for Windows 7? Do you still need Kernel

Streaming Plug-in for Media Player? How do you bypass the Windows Volume Control in Windows 7? Still need Plug-in? Is this Volume Control in Windows 7, in the Digital or Analog Domain. If in Digital, how do you Bypass? How does this effect

USB Digital Out to Stereo System, is Volume Control still in the loop? Do you still need to Plug-in WASAPI in Media Player

with Windows 7 System? There are Speaker Properties in Windows 7, are they a function of the Sound Card and isolated from the

USB Digital Output? These Functions include Enhancements like

Bass Boost, Virtual Surround, Room Correction, and Loudness

Equalization. Other Functions include Level Control. Advanced

Functions include Default Format-select the Sample Rate and Bit

Depth to be used when running in SHARED MODE. Other Functions

like EXCLUSIVE MODE-allow Applications to take exclusive control of this Device, and give EXCLUSIVE MODE Applications

priority. Are these Functions bypassed when using USB Digital

Out to Stereo System DAC? SHARED MODE and EXCLUSIVE MODE sound

alot like WASAPI MODES to me, or am I wrong? If you replace

Windows Media Player 12 with another Media Player, J. River Media Center, Foobar 2000, or Winamp in Windows 7-still going

to need WASAPI and Kernel Streaming Plug-ins with Windows 7?

I can't seem to find any information about the Audio Architecture of Windows 7.

Hi there,

Far too many questions, but here is the most important on the W7 audio architecture (hence sure not answering all your questions) :