IGNORED

Mac Mini HDMI and USB question

I suspect this is a very newbie question (as I am a newbie)- so:

If I buy a new Mac Mini will I be able to send the video signal through the HDMI cable and sound through USB to my 2-ch amp, concurrently? I hope this is worded sensibly.

My desire is to purchase a Mac Mini and a Wadia 151 PowerDAC Mini. For music listening mostly - and occasional movies.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Joe

I may not have understood your question fully, so apologies if my answer isn't what you are looking for.

I have my mac-mini connected to my samsung tv, via hdmi to use as a monitor.

itunes dislay/iphoto & internet etc.

The audio side of things is sent to my lavry dac via a hiface interface from one of the macs usb sockets.

All is fine, stable & easy to set up.

Hope that helps a bit.

Matt.

Thank you Matt. Yes that does help. Also, it helps me to clarify my question a bit. So, if you were to play a DVD through iTunes, or another movie program, there would be no problem of the video portion being directed through the hdmi and the audio portion through your hiface? If so, this sounds like it might suit my needs.

From one newbie to another, thanks again!

Joe

Glad to be of help.

In my music room, I don't have a dvd player & I've not yet tried watching a downloaded movie. I think it should be OK, but don't take my word for it. Someone else here must know more than I about this.

You could always ask at an Apple shop, the guru guys there must have been asked similar questions before.

Hope you get it sorted.

Matt.