IGNORED

Why there is no standard label for high resolution audio?

gaiusparx

I am new to computer high resolution audio, but not aware of a standard way of referring to them. I am not referring to "SACD" or "DVD-Audio" as these are associated to physical media, but high resolution audio downloads commonly in 24/96. For "MP3" you know its lossy music, for "CD" you know its 16bit 44.1khz, these are label that make it easy for consumers to associate with the kind of quality of music. More like branding or marketing. It might be necessary to push computer high resolution audio to be mainstream. Why not for example "HD Audio" for 24/96 audio? HDTracks refers their high resolution store as "96khz/24bit Store", not as friendly as for example "DTS-HD Master Audio Store" or "HD Audio Store". Looking at Tom Petty's Mojo Blu-ray album on amazon.com, it described "This disc contains all 15 tracks from 'Mojo' in high-resolution 48K 24 bit PCM stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio 5.1 surround sound.". The " DTS-HD Master Audio" is immediate and obvious about quality, but not "48K 24 bit PCM stereo". With a "HD Audio" label, it is easy for consumer to associate with the audio quality they are getting, off course enthusiasts like us know what to expect. Not sure why Tom Petty release the songs in 24/48, as 24/96 looks like the ideal standard for "HD Audio". Is 24/48 a standard Blu-ray audio format? With a "HD Audio" label, it is easier to let consumers know there is better audio quality option than CD.

meaning, of course, high resolution. However, unlike HD tv where 720p is considered the low end, and currently 1080p the high (with 1080i in there too, to some extent...simplifying this analog of course) there is no real definition on differences between 24/48 and 24/192 except of course the math. And yes, some 24/48k stuff is referred top as "hirez" even though it's quite a bit less resolving than, say, 24/192 or SACD's DSD/DXD.