IGNORED

Experience / Knowledge

Hello All, I'm new to CA and I'm very impressed with the extensive knowledge base here present. I consider myself to be a novice at the digital domain. I've had a working computer based system for about 6 months now, and I've tried to absorb every piece of info. available on the subject. Like most members on CA, I'm also an audiophile / music lover. I concentrate my efforts exclusively on digital because I don't have the resources to compile a vinyl collection or all the necessary playback components. At present, my digital front end consists of a HPE 270f desktop running Windows 7 64 bit. On the advice of a CA member, I went with the J River Media Center to replace iTunes as my primary player. I use the WASAPI output to a Bel Canto USB Link (24/96) feeding 50' of coax to my Bel Canto DAC 3. I use a 50' Toslink (plastic) optical cable to my Marantz R15S2 SACD player's DAC for iTunes, and I definitely prefer playback through the Bel Canto; probably because I'm bypassing the Windows OS. A/B comparisons using the same source and protocol don't reveal any significan differences between DAC's

Anyway, I was wondering #1 if anyone had any comments or suggestions on this setup, and #2 I would like to know what kind of experience some of you more seasoned members have. I really feel like some of the discussions are way over my head, and was wondering how long it took some of you to come "up to speed" so to speak.

I have been signed up to this forum for a year and a half.

There are some wonderfully generous and knowledgeable contributors here such as Clay, Eloise, Gordon R, Steve N, PeterS, Charles H to name but a few and obviously Chris himself.

I suggest you read and read and read and ask and ask and ask and of course avoid feeding the trolls.

During my year and half I have learnt a huge amount to add my general experiences as an audiophile over the last 35 years.

Enjoy your time here.