IGNORED

Antipodes CX

Hi

I currently use and Antipodes CX (Roon server) and EX (Roon Endpoint).  I upgraded from an Antipodes Core, which is a very similar product to the CX.  I compared the Core to the Bryston BDP2 and found the Core a slightly better sounding product.  I compared the Core using MPD and Roon (when using Roon, the Core acted as both server and endpoint).  I  found I preferred the Core to the BDP2 when using MPD but the difference was small, when I switched the Core over to Roon the difference (vs. BDP2 using MPD) increased significantly in favour of the Core.

Later I had the opportunity to trade in my Core (plus cash) for the CX+EX pair.  I found that separating the Roon server and endpoint functions (CX is Connected to EX and network via ethernet without the need for a hub) made a MUCH larger difference in sound quality than any of the other differences I mentioned above.

In summary, while I have no experience with the CX on its own, the CX+EX pair is remarkable sounding server and the Core, which I believe is similar to the CX is also a very nice product.

Regards

Barry 

Hi

I have the Antipodes EX as roon endpoint and a Audiostore prestige as roon server. 

These are direct ethernet connected with no switch in between. The SQ is very good. 

Have not tried the CX but I guess another good leap with this. But I feel no need anymore to change the  transport/endpoint bit.

I used sotm ultra 200 with ISO regen before as endpoint .

Vinnie Rossi LIO integrated amp with DAC, Sotm SMS-200 ultra/TX USB ultra, powered by an Uptone LPS-1 Audiostore Roonserver powered by a  HD plex PS. ASUS router AC 68 powered by a Teddy pardo PS, 

Speakers are standmounts Klångedang T1 with external crossover , Rega Planar 3 Lejonklou Slipsik phonostage

• 4 months later...
9 hours ago, audioking87 said: