IGNORED

Hi Res article in Sterophile

I vaguely remember seeing something about the latest issue of Stereophile and hi res somewhere here?

But couldn't find it now.

Sorry if this is a repeat

Anyway just having read "As we see it" in the August issue, I found it very interesting with quite a few of the things I have said here in different posts endorsed by the author John Marks.

Among other amusing things he says:"If you can't hear the difference between MP3 and 24/96 Hi Res maybe you shouldn't be reading this magazine"

He also says that the difference between 16/44.1 and 24/96 is like going from a 400dpi printer to a 1200 dpi one-No contest.

Being a professional photographer myself,I would say that not only do I fully agree but would of course again add: provided the source material has anything to gain from higher res!

The same principle and logic applies to both picture and music IMO!

There is nothing more horrible to my critical eye than an unsharp, fussy, bad photo printed in the highest possible quality!

And bad music badly recorded does not get better in HI RES either!

It just makes a painful experience even worse.

If on the other hand you start with something like the latest titles at The Classical Shop .net the absolutely wonderful Schostakovich recordings from ARTS

You are entering the new era I have talked about!

Master Quality downloads !

They also laud both Pure Vinyl and Pure Music elsewhere in the same issue.

All the best Chrille

Not everyone has the equipment to even play hi res recordings.

Yes, if you do have the equipment then yes, you should be able to notice the difference. I can and I must be at least partially deaf because I have a lot of problems listening to classical music on any Hi Fi because I just can’t find a system that can do non electrified instruments, choral arrangements, etc, justice in general.

I have very little classical music on file for exactly this reason. I prefer to go and listen to it live.