IGNORED

Pink Faun 2.16

I just took possession of my new top of the line Pink Faun 2.16 server, and it is an absolute revelation. I had been using their earlier model for a few years and while it worked fine, I was never in love with it - it did not blow the earlier multi media servers I had been using out of the water. To be honest, I had not experienced step change improvements between any of the servers I have been using for a decade. Then I traded it in for the 2.16 and this is an entirely different animal. Nothing in the CAPS evolution can hold a candle to it. Separation between instruments, air around the instruments, spacial cues, the works. Then entire audiophile lexicon applies. It runs Windows, so unlike the vast majority of other turn key servers you can run windows on it, allowing you to run Dirac live. I am using it in MCH mode using their 8 channel I2S output card and a stack of 3 PS audio dacs. Just thought I'd share this so anyone interested in acquiring a high end server is aware of this option. 

https://www.pinkfaun.com/index.php/products/streaming-audio/pink-faun-streamer-2-16.html

I own a Pink Faun 2.16 streamer, and I 100% percent sure it does not run/support Windows.

I do believe that it provides excellent sound, and although not cheap, it's delivering great value .

If you can afford, strongly recommended. Great service as well

Dirk

I've been working with Jord this past week to finalize my 2.16 build.  He said he can install Windows if one chooses.  I'll stick with near real-time Linux kernel but did ask if Windows was supported for potential future use.

edoor, did you opt for the OCXO throughout?  I'm going with I2S 2ch into PSA DS.

9 hours ago, flkin said:

Does anyone here use his HQplayer embedded? If so what settings are you using?