IGNORED

Listening to hi-res files on my home system for the first time

I know this is old hat to most of you, but I was totally amazed--"gobsmacked" as a couple of my friends say--when I experimented with connecting my MacBook Pro to my home audio system last night and listened to some hi-res files. I was already impressed with the sound of these files using headphones, but this didn't prepare me for the sheer dynamic range and feeling of unlimited headroom, as well as the incredible palpability and depth/spread (height as well as width) that I heard from my speakers. I frankly don't recall having noticed these qualities to such a degree in my system before. Bear in mind that I'm no newbie to hi-res audio, as I've been using a modded Sony 777ES SACD player for years and have listened to hundreds of SACDs, but what I heard last night really took everything to another level. This is what hi-res is all about. (And I think I need to get a new SACD player!)

And here's the kicker: this was all coming from a tiny and inexpensive ($99) Native Instruments Audio 2 DJ audio interface connected to my laptop's USB port and a basic Audioquest minijack-to-RCA stereo cable from the NI to my system. I can only imagine how much better a full-fledged DAC would sound (which is definitely in the works!). (I got the NI because someone on this forum had recommended it and I was looking for a decent and inexpensive portable DAC to try out on an upcoming trip--I was just dipping my toes into computer audio and wanted to proceed with baby steps.)

BTW, I listened to Ravel's "Daphnis et Chloe" (Levine/BSO, 88.2/24), "Britten's Orchestra" (Stern/Kansas City SO, Reference Recordings, 88.2/24), and the Mahler 3rd Symphony (Gilbert/New York Phil, 96/24)--stunning performances and recordings all.

Russell

MacBook Pro 2021 16” (M1 Pro, 16MB RAM, macOS Ventura) > Audirvana Origin > Pangea Audio USB-AG > Sony TA-ZH1ES > Nordost Heimdall 2 > Audeze LCD-3