IGNORED

Newbie Advice for Audiophile setup

Hello.

I'm 17 years old, and for a long time I've been listening to 128kbps mp3 and never realised the difference between lossless and compressed music files. I now only listen to lossless music and there's no turning back. I love it :)

My computer is a Macbook Pro (Dual Core - Mid 08' - Non unibody).

I have it set with :

M-audio Firewire Solo external sound card,

connected to Denon AVR-1802 receiver and Roister Status speakers.

I convert FLAC's to AIFF and play them with iTunes and Amarra Plugin. I also rip CD's via iTunes to AIFF.

I want to ask, whether a DAC is necessary and how I can improve my sound, not that it's bad but I'm new to all this audiophile equipment.

Roister is a Greek company.

Speakers details : http://www.roister.gr/status8.2_en.htm

Roister Company details : http://www.roister.gr/company_en.htm

There is a lot you can do to improve your sound, but it boils down to how much you want to spend. You could spend money on a DAC, but then to get the best out of it you would be needing to add a stereo amp to it as the Denon receiver would then be the bottle neck.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

The Denon receiver combines the functions of a DAC, pre-amp and power-amp (along with various signal processing for the surround functions) into one box. Generally where an AV receiver is weekest (and this is my opinion though it's held by others too) is taking an analogue signal and amplifying it transparently for the speakers.

So yes you can buy just a DAC, but without looking at other equipment you will never make the most of your purchase of the DAC.