IGNORED

HomePod - An audiophile (whatever that is) speaker..

Just one question, from an audiophile perspective.  I've never used any of the Fletcher-Munson techniques or curves, so I have no listening experience that way.  But given certain live listening experiences, such as small jazz or folk combos, where the live music doesn't have any compensation, how would the home experience with similar music play to audiophiles with the HomePod?  You might have some opinions on that comparison already.

Thanks for the review. Can you make a new plot for the frequency response with 1/6 octave smoothing and more importantly a 50dB wide vertical scale?

"Science draws the wave, poetry fills it with water" Teixeira de Pascoaes

HQPlayer Desktop / Mac mini → Intona 7054 → RME ADI-2 DAC FS (DSD256)

12 minutes ago, pkane2001 said:

The data files are all in that review, so you can play with them yourself. Here's the distortion plot with 50dB scale:

homepod.thumb.jpg.d3a94d61ac054688813db7889da456a8.jpg

Thanks.

That's one very nasty peak at 1500Hz.

"Science draws the wave, poetry fills it with water" Teixeira de Pascoaes

HQPlayer Desktop / Mac mini → Intona 7054 → RME ADI-2 DAC FS (DSD256)

I might post this in a couple of places - please forgive: I visited the store again to test the HomePod at medium-loud levels with tracks that are very sensitive to mid-upper bass bleed into the midrange.

Generally, at the lower volume levels, a person like me who never uses Fletcher-Munson compensation hears a strong midbass with the HomePod.

My main concern here was whether the HomePod's bass would bleed into or muffle the midrange any, and I didn't experience that.  The other concern was whether the mid-bass (~55-65 hz or so) would be so thumpy as to be a distraction or irritation.  I think it's possible, but I didn't experience that either.

My test tracks were:

Cat Stevens - Morning has Broken.

Donald Fagen - Morph the Cat.

Trombone Shorty - Backatown.