IGNORED

Decision: Schitt Modi Multibit or Pro-Ject Pre Box S2

Hello All,

I have been a member here for several years, but I don't post often. I am in the market for a new USB DAC for my computer based music collection. I am torn between the two models that I have mentioned in the thread title so I will give you all some background info.

I live in the USA and I work in retail, so my budget is very slim. I currently own a Music Streamer II + that I am relatively happy with, but I feel the itch to upgrade. I have been collecting CDs since 1984 and I own about 6,000 CDs which I am in the process of ripping to my hard drive via dbPowerAmp. I use foobar 2000 as my music playback app, but I could change that if I have to.

My digital music collection consists of about 90% 44.1/16 bit music files derived from my personal CD collection. I download some stuff from HDTracks so I do dabble in high rez music. I do not stream music and I really have no intention to ever stream music.

The reason I have chosen the Pro-Ject  and Schitt as my choices is because of price and features. I see the benefits of the Pro-Ject for future expansion into DSD and MQA, but i kind of doubt that I will really dabble in these. (There are a lot of DSD titles at Acoustic Sounds that look interesting, but I am on a budget.) I have read a lot about the Pro-Ject on the other thread, but I don't think that I can afford an upgraded power supply right now. The Schitt seems to fit my needs because my collection is 100% PCM and mostly 44.1/16 bit, which the Schitt seems to specialize in.

My computer stereo consists of a cheap Marantz amplifier connected to a pair of desktop PSB Alpha speakers.

Any opinions and ideas are greatly appreciated. I have not committed myself to anything and I am not in a hurry. A shout out to left channel over at the Pro-Ject thread for all of the valuable information.

Rocky Bennett