IGNORED

Newbie needs help

I'm a newbie to computer audio and would like some help.  I tried to search but I haven't found anything describing exactly what I would to do.

Background

I used to use a portable laptop connected via USB to my W4S DAC to play music.  However, Ii wanted to get rid of the computer aspect.  So first, I recently purchased an ultraRendu and ultraDigital so I could use the superior I2S input on the W4S DAC and go up to DSD256.  I used JRiver and DLNA on the ultraRendu to play music from my desktop to test things out.  I used the new Panel interface of JRiver to control playback via my iPhone.  Of course, I still have a computer involved.  I really wanted a self-contained quiet setup.  Hence, I purchased a sonicTransporter i5.  This is where I am running into problems.

There are two ways I can go since I do not want to use Roon if I can help it.  I can either use Minimserver or Squeezebox server on the sonicTransporter but I have been unable to set either up properly.  I initially had issues because I was trying to use a USB thumb drive on the ST i5 but it was not recognized so I finally connected my USB disk drive to the ST and even though it was formatted as NTFS, it was recognized and I could mount it on the ST.

I have no idea what has to be done on the ST and the ultraRendu to get either the minimserver or Squeezebox server working properly OR which player I can use on my iPhone to send the data from the ST to the ultraRendu.

For Squeezebox, I did install it and was able to get it to see my music on the mounted drive on the ST and I could even see the data on my PC.  However, I could not get squeezelite installed properly on the ultraRendu.  It was always showing up as stopped.  I do not know if I need some other app installed as well on the ultraRendu.  Of course, the ST says it cannot find a player which I assume is the ultraRendu or maybe it is supposed to be an app on the iPhone.