IGNORED

Analysis Paralysis Reached! My travels for noob Server.

Ok, So I already wrote up a whole two pages about what I have, what I want, how I had intended to get there, and then I just spent an hour reading every comment on the C.A.P.S. article, I am completely and totally Brain Fried! Thank god I have my basic simple, integrated audio output playing some soothing internet radio lounge music on my office PC!

So, yes I am an NOOB here, and my current system is ancient, but it is time to go digital. I’ll try to keep this short, but I keep getting “winded”…..

My current system is 10-25 years old, with an NAD 7400pe (integrated amp), a Sony ES series CD player, Techniques Turntable, Definitive Tech BP10s and B&W 601s, along with an active crossover, Crown amp powering some home 'grown' 15” subs when I want to feel the music (ok its house music – I used to DJ, and I used to run lights in NYC Night clubs with truly amazing sound systems - so a good thump is needed sometimes.)

This all started when I read about the Habey fanless PCs and I thought, $400, use my “spare” touch-screen monitor and I’m good to go. I can add a 1TB mirrored NAS to the network and then be able to access the music from all the computers in the house/office.

Ok, so that’s just using the crappy integrated Audio – bad choice, but a start. I could add a USB->DAC later, after research. ( I can say that I don’t see being able to pursue a $600 Lynx card at this stage)

But this only goes so far. Option 2, was to build a full blown HTPC, with HD video, surround, the works. I could even use my “old” P4 mobo for the initial build, and invest in a good quiet case with a good audio card. Or even go the S/PDIF ->DAC route. Again use my existing Touch-screen monitor. This case could also house the first couple of 1Tb drives to get me started on my FLAC library and also house a Blu-Ray player for Ripping.