IGNORED

Can I use JRiver with M2Tech Hiface?

tz1963

Hi,

I have ordered the M2Tech Hiface to run to my DAC.

I am new to all this and am trying to follow the recommendations made on this site. So the plan was to use JRiver on my Windows7 laptop.

But I am not sure it is possible to get JRiver to work with the HiFace.

Can someone tell me how to do that, or should I use Foobar, as that is definitely compatible with HiFace.

Thanks,

T.

Guest WATERLOGIC

11)Does hiFace work with all players? If 1.00 driver is installed it only works with FooBar, a free player that can be downloaded from Internet and must be installed together with its optional DLL to enable the operation in Kernel Streaming mode. With the driver release 1.01 for Microsoft OSes it also works with Winamp and Media Monkey, provided the plug-in for Kernel Streaming operation is installed. iTunes will be used on Mac. With the driver release 1.02 every player can be used, provided the Direct Sound mode is selected. This option, at the cost of a lesser sound quality, allows for listening Internet streams using browsers.

12)Why, with old drivers, must I use FooBar instead of other players, such as iTunes, Media Monkey or Windows Media Player? With old drivers, hiFace only works in Kernel Streaming mode. Some player, like Windows Media Player, only work in Direct Sound mode, which doesn’t allow to obtain the results provided by the Kernel Streaming mode. Instead, with the driver release 1.02 hiFace also works both in Direct Sound and Kernel Streaming mode. Thus, it is also suitable to reproduce Windows sounds and game sounds, like any sound card.

------------------------------------

Best thing - contact their tech support by email - these guys are really helpful.

Regards

WL

I am using J.River with Hiface on a Windows XP computer but through ASIO4All. It works perfectly. I know I've used it through my Windows 7 PC too, but cant remember the configuration now - probably also through ASIO.