IGNORED

Computer AudioNewbie

stefpark

Hi everyone. I am a complete novice when it comes to computer audio who has, for the past month or so, caught the bug and have been learning about this new area. While I have learned a significant amount from this site and others, I have questions that I still am unclear about and wanted to seek some help. I am not sure I know enough to even ask intelligent questions, so please bear with me.

Backgroud - I have 2 audio set ups - I have an AV room with an old Onkyo 989 receiver running a surround set up with Triangle Celius Speakers and I have a IMAC in the same room. Having been exposed to information learned from this site, I experimented by adding a MF Vdac and Airport Express to this area and am streaming Apple Lossless files from my IMAC (ashamed to say that a couple of months ago, I did not know what Apple Lossless was... I thought all computer music was variations of MP3).

Separately, I have a HIfi set up in our main living space - 300B Tube pwr, Tube pre, Marantz SACD SA11, VPI Scout and AvantGarde speakers. All set up a few years back... This is where I would like to add a computer source and DAC. For the DAC, again based on info from this site, I will probably go with a Bryston BDA1 or Berkelery Alpha. With regards to the source, I have a number of questions.

1. Apple Express/Apple TV.

The distance from my AV room to my living area is such that Apple Express offers a weak connection, I assume Apple TV will only offer a similar range?

I understand that even though Itunes now processes 24bit info, Apple Express can only output digitally Redbook info - is this still correct? Is the Apple TV similarly limited and is it so even if it is not streaming but playing music from its drive? (Apple TV with extended range and 24/96 output capability would seem to have been perfect for me...)

2. Mac Mini

It seems this is an often considered option - which I also like for its size and convenience.