IGNORED

settings

aivTO

I am very new to all this and need help in my set up.

My set (thanks to this site) is a Mac G5 2.3 , OS 10.4.11, with a 60 GB OCZ solid state drive , and an internal Barracuda ES.2, 1 TB hard drive to store music files. The sound card is Lynx Studio Technology: AES16, With a Gotham audio GAC-2AES HD-26 to XLR break-out cable connected to Benchmark DAC1. For software I am using Amarra 1.2/iTunes.

What I would like to know and cannot seem to find from the Lynx manual is how to set up the AES16 in Audio MIDI setup. If some could provide a screen shot? Also how to set up the Lynx using the Lynx Mixer, since I will only be using 2 channels.

Regards, John

Dual 2.3GHz G5 > 8GB ram > OS 10.5.8 > OCZ 60GB SSD + Barracuda ES2 1TB > Pure Music > iTunes > Lynx AES16 > Berkeley Alpha DAC V1 > Quicksilver V4 with KT-150 > Acoustat 6600 & DECCA ribbon tweeters DK30

Hi Chris – I think I got it.

In MIDI settings I select the following options:

Default Input: 1:AES16 in Slot-4

Properties for: 1:AES16 in Slot-4

Audio Input: 1:Record 1

Format: 44100.0Hz 2ch-32 bit

Default Output: 1:AES16 in Slot-4

System Output: 1:AES16 in Slot-4

Audio Output: 1:Play 1

Format: 44100.0Hz 2ch-32 bit

One thing I noticed is Amarra does change and display the format automatically to the mHz of the Aiff file, for example 176.4Hz/24, but when I open MIDI the 176.4Hz is ok but the bit rate alway displays 32 bit, and will not allow any other bit rate. Is this right?

Regards, John

Dual 2.3GHz G5 > 8GB ram > OS 10.5.8 > OCZ 60GB SSD + Barracuda ES2 1TB > Pure Music > iTunes > Lynx AES16 > Berkeley Alpha DAC V1 > Quicksilver V4 with KT-150 > Acoustat 6600 & DECCA ribbon tweeters DK30