IGNORED

A friendly suggesting

Please forgive me if this seems like something of a rant. I will try to contain myself.

I'm experiencing a fairly high degree of frustration. I've been trying to figure out how to configure a audiophile-level computer-based digital source. I'm surprised at how, in 2008, this is not a far more user-friendly endeavor.

Part of this touches on my general hostility toward the approach that computer-savvy people take with those of us several rungs below them. My general feeling is that they seem to be more interested in showing off their own depth of knowledge, rather than shedding light on a situation. This is definitely not true of everyone, particularly Chris of this site, but it's all-too common. It may simply be that not everyone has the patience to deal with people who are truly beginners, in which case they should probably not be attempting to answer the questions of beginners.

Now, I'm not a stupid person. I'm an airline pilot by profession and I'm not a technophobe. I'm actually an instructor of the FMS (Flight Management System) navigation procedures. I work with pilots who are mostly unfamiliar with advanced navigation systems and bring them to a level of proficiency that meets FAA standards. In order to do this, I have to choose my words carefully, I have to be careful not to bombard the student with unfamiliar concepts without explaining them first. In other words, I really have to spoon feed them until I know they get it. Then I can start spouting out the abbreviations, the acronyms, and the short-hand.

Repeatedly, I have gone to threads in this site that seemed to be geared toward answering a beginner's question, hoping that a question of my own would be answered, only to discover that the thread was hijacked by someone spouting an obscene level of computer jargon.