IGNORED

Bit perfect with Windows 7 Media Centre

zkeller

Newbie here, so treat kindly ;-)

I would really like to use Windows Media Centre because of all the other features - i.e. TV, photographs, etc.

I would also like to use it for audiophile sound through my DAC/hifi.

So is bit perfect sound impossible with Windows 7 Media Centre? I know I can struggle with MediaMonkey and get bit perfect, but would prefer to use the simple WMC interface.

Thanks

Zane

Zane

The free (not open source though IIRC) option is Foobar. This is very versatile but out of the box is a very plain looking program. There are lots of options for changing the appearence and can look like iTunes or WMP12. There are also plugins to allow you to use the iPod Touch remote control app.

J.River has (or at least had) a free version which plays back audio (but not video I think).

MediaMonkey has a free and a paid for version.

Eloise

Eloise

---

...in my opinion / experience...

While I agree "Everything may matter" working out what actually affects the sound is a trickier thing.

And I agree "Trust your ears" but equally don't allow them to fool you - trust them with a bit of skepticism.

keep your mind open... But mind your brain doesn't fall out.

I am willing to pay every month for getting some new CDs or some new High Res download, because I love to listen to music. I am willing to pay for good speakers, amps, dacs, cables, etc, because I enjoy to have good sound, and I have absolutely no problem to pay for a software, that I like because it plays 100 % Bit Perfect on a windows system and sounds good, and does everything I need, because I want to respect the work on this software.

Sure with everything, and with everyone, we have to watch the balance for price and performance, but with a cost of software, that is about 3 CDs, I have no difficulties with.

But please don’t get me wrong with my comment. Everyone can do it in his own way.

Juergen